25 January 2010

ll PROTON Malaysia Open 2010

Malaysia’s Lee Chong Wei captured his sixth Malaysia Open title while compatriots Koo Kien Keat-Tan Boon Heong opened their 2010 campaign on a winning note on the final day of the PROTON Malaysia Open Super Series in Kuala Lumpur.

China, on the other hand, dominated the finals with three titles with Tao Jiaming-Zhang Yawen in their element to beat world champions Thomas Laybourn-Kamilla Rytter Juhl of Denmark in the mixed doubles. MasOpen-F-kko-tan-rotator

China’s other two titles came via the women’s singles and doubles.

The Putra Stadium saw its best attendance and the 6,000 strong local fans were not disappointed as Chong Wei claimed his sixth Malaysia Open title and his second consecutive Super Series title in 2010 in convincing fashion.

The Malaysian quickly asserted his superiority over Thailand’s Boonsak Ponsana to take the first game 21-13 and with the Thai’s body language signalling a lost cause in the second, nailed the title with a 21-7 win in the second game.

“This is a great way to start the year with two consecutive titles,” said Chong Wei who also won last week’s season opening Korea Open in Seoul.

“My last two matches were a struggle but today was more about preparing myself mentally to face Boonsak.

“He is a very good player but I am happy with the way I kept my focus on the match to win the title. MasOpen-F-chongwei

“After this, I will prepare for the All England championships and I am equally focused on winning that as well.”

Teammates Koo-Tan, however, were stretched all the way in their 21-11, 17-21, 21-16 win over China’s Guo Zhendong-Xu Chen to claim their first title of the season. Koo-Tan did not compete in the season opening Korea Open last week.

“We want to thank the fans for their tremendous support and this win is dedicated to them,” said Koo.

“We were more adventurous at the net and the tactic worked. Having said that, the Chinese pair are definitely a pair to watch out for in the future.”

In the mixed doubles, China’s Tao Jiaming-Zhang Yawen continued their fine run in the Super Series when they upset world champions Thomas Laybourn-Kamilla Rytter Juhl 19-21, 21-18, 21-15.

In Korea, Tao-Zhang were beaten by compatriots He Hanbin-Yu Yang in the final.

Meanwhile, unseeded Chinese player Wang Xin won the women's singles title after Korea’s Bae Youn Joo retired in the third game due to an injury which team officials attributed to “chest pains.”

Youn Joo was trailing 6-14, after both players were tied one game a piece, when she conceded the match for a final score of 19-21, 21-17, 14-6 (retired).

“I am happy to win the Super Series in Malaysia as I came close to winning the Malaysia Open Grand prix Gold tournament last year,” said Wang Xin.

“This win will spur me to work harder at my game in order to win more titles.”

In an all-China women’s doubles final, Du Jing-Yu Yang beat Ma Jin-Wang Xiaoli, the top seeds, 21-16, 21-12 to give China the first title of the day.

For more details,click at Official BWF Website


Post a Comment